3CE Gel Eye Liner in #L.O.V.E.

3CEGE1There’s no point in keeping it from you guys–I’m head over heels in love with this 3CE Gel Eye Liner in the colour #L.O.V.E.* This came in my January BNT Box but it’s perfect for February. I mean, hello, it’s called #L.O.V.E.!

3CEGE2This is the second 3CE (or 3 Concept Eyes) product I’ve tried and I loved the packaging both times. The 3CE lipstick I reviewed previously was packaged in a box with images on it. I  thought this box was going to be boring in comparison, but there’s a nice pop of pink on the inner lining of the box when you open it up. It’s simple but the effect packs a nice punch into the overall experience of opening up a product for the first time. 3CEGE6The gel liner comes housed in a heavy frosted glass pot with semi-square corners and a matte black lid. You can see that it’s sealed with a little sticker tape so that you know it has never been tampered with. Also included with the gel liner is a synthetic flat brush with a rounded end. The brush is perfect for use with the liner. Great quality and very soft!

You can also see a bit of colour peeping through the glass just there…3CEGE3It’s not named #L.O.V.E. for no reason… this gel liner is red. Yup, you’re seeing and reading that right! I was quite surprised when I saw the colour for the first time. Despite having read the shade name on the box, I’m used to seeing gel liner offered in your standard black and brown shades so I just assumed it would be one of those. Boy, was I wrong!

3CEGE8And I’m more than glad that I was wrong. I was afraid to wear the liner at first because I didn’t wan to look cartoonish and I didn’t want the red to pull out other red tones in my skin. The most obvious way to use it is to make a thick winged line with it (as I have done in the photo above) and I quite like how it peeks out of the corners of my eyes when they are open. I didn’t feel cartoonish at all. I actually felt…well, kinda fierce. Snaps for my attempt at a fierce face!

You could also do a more rounded and even thicker line, though. I imagine that would yield a very different effect. I plan on doing a post on different way to wear this product, so keep an eye out for that! For now, let’s discuss the formula of this baby.

3CEGE4In the past I have used the famous Bobbi Brown Gel Liner and also the Maybelline Gel Liner. Both are excellent products with a smooth texture that allows the product to glide onto the eyelid with ease. This 3CE Gel Liner is twice as creamy as both the Bobbi Brown and Maybelline ones. It almost feels like a cream eyeshadow except that it has much more pigment. The 3CE Gel Liner is waterproof. It sets nicely and didn’t transfer or move around my lids. I did allow it ample time to set.

My mom saw me looking at this and she asked me if it was a lipstick. I kind of laughed lightly and corrected her, but after a while I thought why not! It’s definitely creamy enough to be one. (If you’re wondering, yes. I have tried to wear it as a lipstick.)
3CEGE5Perhaps the main thing that makes this red wearable is that it isn’t a true red. In the swatches above you can see that it’s a pink-based red and that there is a sheen to it. The colour is not quite burgundy but not quite magenta. I love how the shimmer softens the look and the specific shade of red is not too cool toned or too warm. And look at that pigmentation! No translucent or uneven lines with this baby! 
3CEGE9Here I am trying to wink, plus some close-up shots of my eyes. To make this work, I made sure to eliminate any redness in my skin that should not be there. So around my chin, on my forehead, and around my nose. On the eyes, I drew a very thick line with #L.O.V.E. then added a thin line of black gel liner to the base of my lash line as well as tons of black mascara. This is very important as it will keep you from looking like you have swollen eyes. On my bottom lash line, I went completely bare. If your waterline tends to be pinkish or red, go over it with a nude liner to cancel that out. 3CEGE7As you may be able to tell, it’s #L.O.V.E. with this product the whole way through (really can’t get over that shade name hehe). I’m very happy to own this product and if I get the chance to pick up more 3CE products in the future, I’m definitely grabbing the black and brown as well as in some other fun colours. Have a look at some of those here!

That concludes everything I got in January’s BNT box! I hope you guys enjoyed dipping into the wonderful world of Korean cosmetics once again! :) Check out these links for more BNT goodness:  bntgirls-badge

BNT News Website

 BNT News Facebook Page

 BNT News Youtube

 BNT News Twitter Handle: @officialbntnews

*This item was provided to me free of charge. All opinions are my own.

4 comments

  1. Hi, Mariana! Can you please do an everyday make-up tutorial? It seems you mastered the “no make-up” make-up look. Even with make-up, it looks so natural and effortless. Please do share some tips or techniques for clueless ladies like me. Thanks :)

Leave a Reply

