Review: Laura Mercier Secret Camouflage in SC-5

LMSC1Hello and happy Sunday, all! :) Today I have the Laura Mercier Secret Camouflage Concealer (1,650.00 Php) up for review. If you have blemishes and/or hyper pigmentation problems, this is a product you’ll likely want to add to your makeup kit. LMSC2Product description from the website: “Laura Mercier Secret Camouflage completely camouflages dark circles, minor imperfections and discolorations. Secret Camouflage contains a unique two-shade system, one to match the skins depth of color and one to match the skins undertone, making it possible for every woman to custom-blend her own perfect shade. The high level of pigment requires very little product to achieve perfect coverage. Always apply after foundation.”

When they say “high level of pigment” they aren’t kidding. This is fantastic for spot concealing because the pigment really clings to skin. It’s an oil-free formula with a cream texture that’s very dry. You’ll need to spend some time warming up the product but the results are absolutely worth that little extra effort. It’s that dryness that allows the product to stick and not slide around on your face.
LMSC3Secret Camouflage comes in 8 different color sets ranging from very fair to deep. In each palette you get two shades that (as mentioned in the product description) are meant to be mixed together to match your skin’s undertone and to achieve depth of colour perfectly. Only shades SC-1 to SC-5 seem to be available in the Philippines. I picked up SC-5 for myself only recently because it is perennially out of stock. Thankfully it is a perfect match.

SC-5 and SC-4 are the two shades that probably work best for Filipina skin and I can’t understand for the life of me why we don’t at least have SC-6 in the country. 
LMSC4SC-5 up close. This duo is meant for “suntanned and dark skin tones.” The shade on the left is more yellow in tone while the shade on the right is orange or peachy. When I’m dealing with very red spots, I mix in more of the yellow toned shade. When I’m trying to cover hyper pigmentation that’s dark (almost like brown spots), I pick up more of the orange toned shade. Yellow counters red and orange/peach counters blue!

You can see that I had already used my palette before photographing it. I really couldn’t wait! Hehe. Secret Camouflage is a Lisa Eldridge and Pixiwoo favourite so I was very excited to give it a try. :)

LMSC5The instructions for usage on the Laura Mercier website specifically call for the Secret Camouflage Brush. I happen to own it as part of a double-ended brush set I got last Christmas, but you can definitely use any flat and pointed silicone brush. The Real Techniques detailer brush works well with this product too, for example.

The website further instructs: “Using the back of your hand as a palette, use the brush to warm & mix the two colours until you find the shade that matches your skin tone. Secret Camouflage is a true “makeup artist’s” formula so the more you work with the product the more easily you will be able to achieve perfect results.”
LMSC6Here’s a step-by-step application demo:

1- Bare face. You can see a couple of red spots and acne scars.

2- Koh Gen Do Aqua Foundation

3 – Secret Camouflage applied generously to the spots

4 – Blended in

I had no set my face with powder yet in the last photo. That step is crucial in getting the product to stick to one spot and last all day. And here’s a totally unrelated tip: if you’re wearing a white collared shirt, protect it from foundation stains and powder fall out by wrapping a silk scarf around your neck.

lmsc7What I like best about Secret Camouflage is that it does not fade throughout the course of the day. I used to use the Make Up For Ever Full Cover Concealer for spot concealing, but it was not pigmened enough and it faded away by lunch time. Secret Camouflage is just perfect for spot concealing because of the formula and the amount of pigment packed into the product. I will say that if you use too much it can enhance dry skin and pores, but that’s why you need to warm it up properly on the back of your hand and apply it only exactly where it is needed.

Again, if you struggle with acne or any kind of spots on your face, this is a product you will love. I’m not a fan of smothering my face with a full coverage foundation just to cover small problem areas–that just looks unnatural and it’s not practical for day-to-day wear because you want your skin to breathe. With a product like Secret Camouflage, you can wear a tinted moisturizer all over the face to even out skin tone and then focus on those pesky spots with the concealer. It makes for a more natural look plus it feels a whole lot more comfortable. I do not recommend Secret Camouflage as an under eye concealer because it can be drying, but if you warm it up enough and apply a very thin layer it could probably work.
LMSC8I do wish they included a brush with the purchase, but cheap synthetic brushes aren’t difficult to some across anyway. The one other thing I don’t really like about the product is the size of the packaging. It’s a bit bulky, but I don’t thick any LM palette has ever impressed me because of the packaging and I still buy them anyway.

It’s no secret that I love Laura Mercier as a brand. I use their oil-free tinted moisturizer very often and just about every other product of theirs that I have tried is great quality stuff. The Secret Camouflage concealer is no exception. The brand is also reasonably priced in my opinion– 1,650.00 for a ton of concealer that you don’t need very much of is a great deal! You just can’t go wrong with Laura Mercier, it seems.

9 thoughts on “Review: Laura Mercier Secret Camouflage in SC-5

  1. Oh my goodness I am so glad I came across this post of yours! Your step-by-step before and after photo = proof that this concealer works wonders. It’s like magic! 😍

    Thanks for posting this! I am so going to grab one for myself the next time I chance upon a Laura Mercier boutique. :lol:

  2. I was already planning to get sc-4 because according to the great people on the interwebs that’s what matches an nc42 but that doesn’t seem like the case. I guess I’ll have to ask my relatives abroad to get me my shade match because it looks amazing!

    • Hmm, yes NC42 and SC-4 are definitely not a match! I’m between NC 40 and 42 and I think SC5 is a good match for me. Do try to see the product in person too though! :)

Leave a Reply

