Review + Demo: Revlon Nearly Naked Foundation in 190 True Beige

Check out the demo video! :)

The Revlon Nearly Naked Foundation (525.00 Php) created a lot of buzz when it was first released in the US. By the time it finally arrived in  Manila, much of my excitement had faded. So I didn’t run to counters to pick one up… I knew I was going to try it eventually, but since I was so disappointed by my experience with the Urban Decay NAKED Skin Foundation (of which this a copycat!), I thought I might just be let down again. When I finally did pick it up, I picked the wrong shade pa200 Warm Beige was my initial pick but it turned out to be way too orange (i.e. warm). It will probably suit me better when summer rolls around, but for now, 190 True Beige is a better match.

RNN1220 Warm Beige beside 190 True Beige. Nearly Naked comes in a simple but chic glass bottle. I love that the cap is white, that you can clearly see the foundation through the glass, and that the shade names/numbers are clearly printed onto each bottle. I like seeing this foundation on my vanity table. Is pretty. But what about the foundation itself, you say? Oh yes, yes. My very first experience wearing it was quite exciting because for a second I thought I may have found a dupe for the Koh Gen Do Aqua Foundation. Unfortunately it didn’t quite end up behaving the same way, but it is similar in some ways. 

RNN3Before we talk about formula and wear, let’s just take a moment to sulk over this products biggest flaw: the lack of a pump. I would gladly pay 150 pesos more for a very basic pump on this thing. If Revlon really didn’t want to add a pump in, then I wish they could have placed this product in a squeezy tube instead. As it is, I have to pour some product onto my hand each time I use it, which can be messy, wasteful, and just downright annoying if I’m honest.

RNN4220 Warm Beige on my hand. Now, onto formula. This water based foundation is lightweight and easy to spread, although I  do recommend using a stippling brush to apply it. Blending the foundation with fingers tends to yield uneven results. It has an SPF of 20, which is not enough to cause flashback problems but is enough to keep you covered for quick forays into the sun during the day. It doesn’t smell of anything and it did not cause any irritation on my sensitive skin.

The shade selection is impressive with around six available to choose from locally and even more made available abroad. The range also covers warm, cool, and neutral tones, though not in every shade range (meaning there might be a medium warm colour, but no dark warm colour).

RNNxWearing 190 True Beige. Nearly Naked yields a beautiful demi-matte finish. It’s not quite “naked” looking. People can definitely still tell that I have foundation on when I wear this, but the finish does have a healthy skin-like glow to it. When I tested the foundation without a primer, it wore well until about four hours in. After that it began to fade in uneven patches all over my face. When worn over a primer (my fave is the bare minerals prime time primer but I’ve also been using the Ellana Cosmetics Liquid Primer), it lasts for 5-6 hours and faded evenly. Using a primer also helps make applying the foundation more evenly with ease.

I actually really love the look of this foundation on me and I reach for it quite a lot for days when I need a little more coverage (typically I just use a tinted moisturizer). I’ve gotten a couple of compliments about my skin looking good while wearing this–something that usually only happens to me when I wear the Koh Gen Do Aqua Foudnation. So while it’s not a dupe for KGD because of the heavier coverage and uneven fading, it does make the skin look extremely healthy. At a small fraction of the price of KGD Aqua, Nearly Naked is a total steal.  Often I can’t even believe that what I have on is a 525 Php foundation. This is a rare case of quality far exceeding expectations based on price. Yay!
RNN2All things considered, I would recommend this foundation to girls who are looking for medium coverage. All skin types should be able to use it, but always with a primed face. Dry skinned girls will need to smooth over dry patches and oilier skinned girls will need to set with a good powder.

The lack of a pump is something that I’m willing to let slide only because of how affordable the product is. I still say that I would be willing to pay a little more for the addition of one, but regardless of any of that, I find myself using the foundation anyway. A good formula will always find its way into my routine even in spite of annoying packaging, lol.
RNN5How have you found this foundation? :)

4 comments

  1. I really really really super love this foundation! I got it November last year and have been using it every single day since. I’m now down to the last quarter of the product (maybe even less) and I will definitely be repurchasing! And you’re right, the lack of pump is just incredibly annoying. But I can live with it. Great review! And again, you’re super pretty! :)

  2. I’ve read from other reviews that the Nearly Naked foundation shades lean more toward the pink undertone. I had an opportunity one time to pass by the Beauty Exchange store in Greenbelt. I made a swatch of the 190 True Beige at the back of my hand, and I wasn’t sure if it was the right shade of me so I didn’t pick it up. I was also a bit skeptic `bout the undertone, so I’d really like to know your thoughts about this. :)

    1. True Beige is definitely a neutral tone–not too pink but not yellow either. Warm Beige was definitely very orange. I’m not familiar with all of the other shades but I do think most of the lighter shades lean pink. :)

Leave a Reply

