Get That Glow: Myra Holistic Skin Care & Myra VitaGlow BB Cream*

I kind of love that the “trend” for makeup lately has been healthy skin and the no-makeup makeup look, which obviously focuses on enhancing what you already have. That said, it’s difficult to “keep up” with the trend if you don’t have good/clear skin to begin with. I know how that feels and no matter what the trend in makeup is, blemishes and oily skin don’t tend help you achieve the look–ever. Skincare products play a big role in keeping blemishes at bay, but your diet and lifestyle have direct consequences, too. Myra1When Myra sent me a package that highlighted the fact that beautiful skin starts from within, I was like heck yeah! You go, Myra! They call it a “holistic skincare” approach and it highlights four things in addition to taking your daily dose of Vitamin E:

Sleep. Exercise. Hydrate. Eat Well.

I personally get about 6 hours of sleep a night and that’s enough for me, but some people will need 7 or even 8 hours of sleep to fully recharge. As for exercise, I do my best to take as many steps as I can when I move around on a regular day, and I also get at least two hour-long workouts in a week. Incidentally I’m about to try a Pilates class later this afternoon, which I am super excited about because one of my fave celebrities does Pilates (Bianca Gonzalez, in case you were curious). Exercise is great for your skin because it increases blood flow and encourages cell turnover. It’s also great for your brain, so it’s no wonder than more than a few of my law school professors have recommended exercise to improve productivity in all aspects of life.
Screen Shot 2014-07-31 at 11.11.13 AMHydrate. This one is particularly important to me, as you can sort of tell by the way I gushed over a water bottle on my Instagram page (Kor happens to be a super cool brand, so it’s gush-worthy in my defense). Drinking 2 liters of water a day is a good, but more than that is even better. It’s also best to be constantly drinking small amounts instead of downing two glasses of water at one point in the day–but that’s still better than none at all! There are many conflicting views on the amount and manner of water intake per day, but generally it’s agreed that you need a lot of water. I mean hello, your body is at least 60% water. Benefits include the flushing out of toxins, better-balanced body fluids, immune system boost, and healthier skin, of course!  MYRANow let’s talk about eating well and taking supplements. You’ll be happy to know that I don’t preach any crazy diet–my belief is that having everything in moderation (while being smart about it!) is the way to go. Vitamin supplements are important because it’s not always possible to source all of the nutrition you need from the food you have in one day. In an ideal world, that would work out, but when has the world ever been ideal! Vitamin E  happens to be something our bodies don’t produce naturally and that we have to source from elsewhere. Vitamin E supplements like Myra 300E (241.00 Php for a bottle of 30) and Myra 400E (ranges from 94.64 – 1,183.00 Php) are rich in anti-oxidants that help repair damaged skin cells and protect healthy ones by  blocking free radicals. And more healthy cells = glowing skin!

You’ll notice that Myra’s newest endorsers are Sarah Geronimo and Judy Ann Santos–both beautiful women, separated by 10 years in age, but both of them have gorgeous, healthy skin. Sarah is 26 and Juday is 36, but they both have that glow one only gets from living a healthy lifestyle.

Now I think we’ve established how important it is to care for your skin from within, but now let’s move on to how you can enhance your already-beautiful skin using makeup. Say it with me, fellow beauty lovers: YAY MAKEUP! :DMyBB1Say hello to the Myra VitaGlow BB Cream (99.00 Php). These little tubes pack a big punch of shine (linking you guys to Carina’s post to see it worn all over), so I knew when I first started playing around with the product that it wouldn’t be best for use all over my face. More mature women or girls with dry skin can probably stand to use it that way, and as a base it will even out your skin tone and provide an SPF of 15. There are also minerals and Vitamin E in the BB cream itself, so you’re nourishing the skin as you protect it! I personally like to use this product as a highlighter or as a strategically-placed base. MyBB2Using the shade Beige, I apply the product to my cheeks (apples to cheekbone), bridge of the nose, and cupid’s bow. I then proceed to use my usual Ellana Minerals Foundation, which is a powder foundation that yields a matte finish. The BB Cream shows through ever so slightly and I’m left with a healthy glow in all the right places. :) Because the BB Cream is pretty sheer, I can also use the shade Ivory when I need a stronger highlight, but I do think that most Filipinas will get a natural look out of Beige. This would also make a pretty decent eyeshadow primer, I think, although I haven’t tried that out just yet!

Again, wearing makeup is a great way to enhance your skin. You don’t always have to cover it up, especially when going about your day-to-day lives. Let your skin breathe but don’t forget to protect it either! The minerals, SPF, and Vitamin E in Myra’s VitaGlow BB cream work together to do just that. ;) 
Myra HolisticSo remember guys: sleep, exercise, hydrate, and eat well! Then take your Myra 300/400E supplements to top it all off. :D

Myra 300E and 400E capsules as well as Myra VitaGlow BB Cream are available at all major drugstores, department stores, and supermarkets nationwide.

Myra on Facebook

Instagram & Twitter: @Myra Holistic

*These products were provided to me free of charge and for my consideration. This post reflects my honest opinions. 

3 comments

    1. I honestly don’t think I could ever use it all over my face alone, but under medium-coverage powder, it’s fine. It becomes a glow. The “glitter” itself isn’t even chunky. And I really do love it as a highlighter! :) I think the key to using it is strategic application… not the best BB cream for sure, but I’ll take it as a 99Php highlighter! haha

Leave a Reply

