Skincare Additions: Kiehl’s & Juice Beauty

NewSkin1Meet the most recent additions to my skincare regimen: the Khiel’s Creamy Eye Treatment with Avocado (approx. 1,300.00 Php)  and the Juice Beauty Blemish Clearing Serum (1,675.00 Php at Beauty Bar). These are both what I used to consider non-necessities in skincare. Eye creams and serums were just glorified moisturizers in my mind. At most they were things that only aging/mature women would find useful. But views change and so do the skin’s needs–sometimes much earlier than we anticipate.

Ever since my skin turned combo-oily and I consulted a dermatologist, I haven’t used any moisturizer on a daily basis. I only pick up some Physiogel AI Cream when dry patches turn up, usually as a result of treating a blemish. A few months of not using a moisturizer left me skin feeling not dry, but dehydrated. I picked up the ISOI Bulgarian Rose Blemish Care Serum that I received in a BNT Box and figured I would give it a go, since I had breakouts here and there and my skin was slightly irritated (as always). That stuff was amazing at providing just the right amount of moisture and nutrients for my skin. When I ran out of it I just fell back into a no-serum routine. My skin freaked.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: balancing combo/oily skin is a pain in the ass. The hunt for a new serum began.
NewSkin3After doing some research about the best serums for young but oily and semi-troubled skin, I decided to try out the Juice Beauty Blemish Clearing Serum because according to their website, it was designed for designed “for oily, combination, and blemish prone skin types.” Uhm, perfect. This serum clears while it hydrates and on top of that the ingredients do NOT include parabens, petroleum, propylene or butylene glycol, sodium lauryl sulfates, pesticides, phthalates, artificial dyes or synthetic fragrances. The benefits derived from the natural ingredients that ARE included are as follows:

  • Reduces breakouts & clears clogged pores with beta hydroxy salicylic acid naturally derived from willow bark.
  • Evens skin tone and texture with organic lemon & apple fruit acids.
  • Renews the skin with Vitamin C.
  • Fights free radical skin damage with antioxidant Vitamin B5, E.
  • Promotes cellular turnover with CoQ10.
  • Hydrates & reduces inflammation with organic aloe and green & white tea.

My skin loves this stuff and in the past two months, it has really helped me keep pimples and dehydration at bay. I only need 2 drops at most to cover my entire face, so this bottle is going to last me ages. At approx. 1,600 Php, it’s also very reasonably priced for a serum. On Taste Central you can even get this half-off!

If you have combo/oily skin like I do and are on the hunt for a new serum, I recommend checking this one out for sure.

NewSkin2As for the Khiel’s Creamy Eye Treatment, well, I bought it because I started to feel that the skin under my eyes was going flaky and losing elasticity. One of the first places you develop wrinkles on your face is at the edges of the eyes (laugh lines or crows feet) and while I’m not too afraid of developing those lines one day, I don’t want them to come sooner than they should. Zoella had spoken about this eye cream on her YouTube channel as the only one that really helped her heal rashes under her eyes, so I gave it some thought and dropped the 1,300.00 Php for this little pot of green cream. And boy am I glad I did.

I’ve never felt such a soothing, pillow-like consistency on my skin in my life. This is a very rich eye cream that definitely needs to sit overnight, but it works so well that you won’t need a morning eye cream anyway. After 3 months of use, my under-eye skin looks a lot more plump and is also less likely to show fatigue from a late night of studying. A makeup artist I met recently commented that for a 24-year-old, my under eye area was in fantastic shape. Yay!

This is slowly turning into a skincare-centric blog and I hope that doesn’t bother you guys. Skincare is relative to every individual, but I hope you can take some things away from my own little growths when it comes to this particular area. For some people, one regimen works for their entire lives. For others (like me), the skin’s needs are ever-changing. Eye creams and serums are still not an absolute must to my mind, but if your skin is acting up then it is telling you something and you would do well to listen to it.

My mom changes her skincare regimen once every six months. Some dermatologists say that’s bad because your skin is really just starting to react to the products at that point in time–but it works for my mom and nothing horrible has happened to her skin at all. As for me, the one constant (and constant means more than 2 years of use) has been my Shu Uemura Cleansing Oil. My VMV cleanser and toner are also mainstays, while my moisturizers and/or skin-nourishing products (to encompass serums, masks, treatments) seem to change most often. And that’s ok, I think.

What are your thoughts on skincare regiments? Are you fiercely loyal to one? Or do you change it up pretty often?

One comment

Leave a Reply

