VMV Hypoallergenics: ARMADA Face Cover 45 & Post Procedure Barrier Cream 50+

VMV1VMV Hypoallergenics offers a pretty wide range of options when it comes to sun protection, but the one I like for day-to-day use is the ARMADA Face Cover 45 (1,715.00 Php). VMV recommends it for those who spend most of their time indoors and also for those who like to wear makeup, as it has a mattifying, primer-like effect. It’s lightweight and not sticky at all, plus it makes a pretty good base for when I wear mineral powder foundation (and that’s pretty much every day). I take sun protection very seriously, so when I say I use this stuff daily, I mean it. Can’t imagine life without it.

I also love ARMADA Sport 70 (2,350.00 Php) but that is really only necessary for when I’m at the beach or in some other extreme outdoor situation. So one day I had the sudden urge to buy something between the 45 and 70 SPFs. The only options are the ARMADA Face and Body Shield 60 (1,885.00 Php) and the ARMADA Post-Procedure Barrier Cream ( 1,325.00 Php). I went for the latter, as you can see in the photo above.

Although they differ by only 5 “protection factor points” (lol please clue me in on the correct way to express that if you are aware!), Face Cover 45 and the Post-Procedure Barrier Cream differ quite a bit. I should have known based on the names, but here’s a little comparative post for your benefit anyway:

VMV2Post-Procedure Barrier Cream on the right and Face Cover 45 on the left.

The Post-Procedure Barrier Cream is actually a pure physical sunscreen, which means that it blocks out any harmful rays using its physical composition. No chemical sunscreen (but pleas note that chemical sunscreens are not “bad” per se) means that this is a THICK and powerful sunscreen that makes for ideal protection for the delicate skin of infants and hypersensitive skins. It also contains coconut-derived Monolaurin for antibacterial disinfection and antioxidant green tea. This is really best for use after a procedure (duh) like a peel or laser treatment that leaves your skin extra sensitive to sun exposure. Not for day-to-day use for sure.

Face Cover 45 is a medium-weight cream and unlike the Post Procedure Barrier Cream, it blends into skin and sits comfortably. As I said, it leaves a nice matte finish, so it’s great for use under makeup or even alone, if you’re a low maintenance kind of girl. An SPF of 45 suits my lifestyle because I do walk in the sun at least once a day and I am always under some harsh fluorescent lights in school (VMV sunscreens protect against the full spectrum of harmful light: indoor and outdoor UVA, UVB, Infrared and Visible Light).

VMV3Obviously-opaque versus blendable and creamy.

There are both great sunscreens, but don’t make the same mistake I did in assuming the the Post Procedure Barrier Cream is actually wearable on a daily basis. Hehe. You can also check out ARMADA Face Cover 30 if you are barely ever in the sun (it isn’t mattifying though) and the ARMADA Face and Body Shield 60, which is what I probably should have picked out instead of the Post Procedure Barrier Cream. 

If you’re in the market for a nice sunscreen for daily use, I can’t stress enough how awesome Face Cover 45 is. If you don’t yet use sun protection on a daily basis, let me tell you– your future self will thank you for making the commitment right now.

Check out VMV Hypoallergenics’ website and Facebook page for more info!

4 comments

  1. I really like VMV for their hypoallergenic products (yay sensitive skin!). That said, I really should try out the Face Cover as I just ran out of my usual sunscreen. It’s a little risky going around with just the SPF in my face bases. O_O

Leave a Reply

