Review: The Body Shop’s Camomile Sumptuous Cleansing Butter

I love the idea of cleansing balms. If you haven’t heard of them or seen them around much, then you’re probably from a country with a warmer climate, like me. Cleansing balms are essentially oil-based cleansers that remain solid at room temperature. Fellow Pinays, think cold-pressed extra-virgin coconut oil when placed in the refrigerator. It transforms into a translucent white solid, right? Well apparently, EVCO looks like that 90% of the time abroad. Lol. “Room temperature” differs depending on where you live, and that explains why cleansing balms don’t sit on Philippine retail shelves. They just melt away. 

But it can be done — cleansing balms can exist in their solid form in this weather without totally liquefying. I first saw it in the Veriikos Deep Cleansing Oil Balm that I got in a BNT box a few months back. Verikos is of course an Asian brand and they definitely took our weather into consideration when formulating it and it worked perfectly (I used that cleansing balm down the the very last and loved every bit of it. I wish it were more easily available). This Body Shop cleansing balm is only the second I’ve come across locally (please inform me if there are others) because Clinique does not carry their Take the Day Off Balm locally. Boo. So anyway, let’s have a look at this tin of balmy goodness which, according to THE Caroline Hirons, is a dupe for Clinique TTDO: TBC1The Body Shop’s Camomile Sumptuous Cleansing Butter (price to be updated) is primarily a makeup remover and cleanser, but it is also meant to soothe and treat sensitive skin. That’s what the camomile is in there for, and I have to say that that’s my favourite thing about this product — it really does seem to soothe the skin as the residue sits on your face. It’s sumptuous, as its name suggests. The residue it leaves, however, makes this something I definitely cannot use daily because of my combo-oily skin type.TBC3If you’ve never used a cleansing balm before, the photo above pretty much says all you need to know.

Don’t skip out on using a muslin cloth with this particular cleansing balm though, as it is extra thick. Excessive residue might accumulate and breed pimples. TBC2This product has a synthetic wax base, which might explain why it does not break down in the heat. As cleansing balms go, it’s harder in texture than any I’ve come across. It feels very much like refrigerated EVCO, actually. Once in your palms though, it’s easy enough to work into an oil. Once it’s been worked into the skin and water is added, it emulsifies nicely and removes makeup easily. I did use this around my eye area a couple of times and I did not notice any irritation, but I generally use Bioderma to remove eye makeup before I cleanse. 

As I said earlier, as great as this product is, it’s not the best for combo-oily skin. I’ve taken to using it once a week, when I’m pampering myself with a litte home-spa action. I will allow the oils to sit for a couple of minutes after rinsing, but I make sure that I follow up with a toner. 
TBC4I love this stuff, mainly because it works. Other reasons include the awesome packaging that makes it so easy to travel with and also the fact that you need only the smallest amount of product per use. Still, I really only recommend this for normal-dry skinned girls. If you are that, then give this a try ASAP! I find that it’s economical and you really can’t say that there isn’t a Body Shop store near you if you live in Manila. TBC5Thoughts on cleansing balms, guys? Tried ‘em? Love ‘em? Hate ‘em? 

 

P.S. I hope you have/are having a lovely Friday! Friday’s are hell for me this semester because I’ve class until late and class again early on Saturday morning, but hey–it’s still a Friday! That’s always a reason to smile. :) 

4 comments

    1. If it’s thick and sturdy facial tissue, maybe, but you’ll end up using a lot. What you’re after in the muslin cloth (or any face towel) is the rougher texture. :) It grabs on to the residue better.

      1. Thanks! Haven’t tried cleansing balms before just cleansing creams like: The Face Shop Herb Day Massage Cream, Le Couvent des Mihimes Rinse-off Cleansing Cream and of course the ever reliable Pond’s Cold Cream. But I still need to wipe off residue with cleansing water.

  1. Hi! I heard and read a lot them. A lot. I’m now using the Clinique Take the day off and I must say I like it as it doesn’t contain any Shea butter and is safe on oily or blemish-prone skin as well. It doesn’t leave any grease or tacky feeling at the end. I read Caroline Hirons’ review about this balm and she said it’s a ‘no-no’ on acne-combination skin. So I decided to skip the purchase, though the Camomile scent may be captivating and the price is far more affordable than other high-end cleansing balms. I might give a go to the Emma Hardie one, which is at the moment a bit too expensive for me. By the way, if you love the brand, there are other products from The Body Shop which you could try, without these bad downsides. I mean the Nutriganics Softening Cleansing gel, a gel that becomes oil and contains also salycilic acid, good to oily skin. This is loads better. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

